New strength
and enormous potential
as a member
of the IPS Irsch Group

ueber-uns_roland-althaus-p6qfn50zi5ulrnuola350j0zmwhegojo4126w0qfb4
01

Who Are We?

Gernet Althaus IP AG – GA-IP is an independent patent and trademark law firm. 

You invent, we protect – to safeguard and enhance your competitiveness.

Protect your innovation against imitation! Protection enables you to set yourself apart from your competition and prohibit others from using your intellectual property. It also stops competitors protecting your innovation for themselves. Your protected innovations and creations are a tradeable asset which you can sell or licence.

Our team of highly qualified specialists have a wealth of expertise and specialist knowledge both of intellectual property and in various technical fields, most notably mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, chemistry and biotechnology. We draw on these skills to help innovative businesses and individual inventors develop effective strategies for protecting their intellectual property, anywhere in the world.

02

Our Expertise.

Our customers rely on our expertise in the following areas.
Patents

protect your technical innovations.

Trademarks

distinguish your products and enhance their image.

Design

protects the creative new design (external appearance) of your products.

03

IPS Irsch Group.

IPS Irsch Group: Gernet Althaus IP AG, PMD Workshop GmbH and IPS Irsch AG

 


Background
We have proven ourselves in both the national and international market over many years and have advanced our patent law firms through organic growth. The individuality of the separate companies stands front and center, while their solidarity with each other gives additional strength to the whole. We will use this to the benefit of our clients. We firmly believe that a regional alignment based on established roots in the local area meets the growing needs of our clients.

Values
The personality and integrity of our staff are valued highly in our companies alongside our requirements of their specialist qualifications. We assign great importance to an inspiring and appreciative staff and corporate culture and have, as a group, committed ourselves to acting sustainably and responsibly. In doing so we have laid the foundation for a relationship with our clients that is based on trust and cooperation.

Pioneer Position
The outstanding standard of our infrastructures, including the IT system that was announced back in 2013 and has since been fully integrated, are central factors in our ability to provide high quality services. That has put us well ahead of many of our competitors, allowing us to deliver consistent improvements in efficiency and significant advancements in data security. What is more, this foundation has enabled us to better prepare for unforeseen events such as the coronavirus pandemic and to overcome the additional challenges while maintaining a consistently high standard.

Flexibility and Strength
As a corproate group, we can also enhance security and flexibility and tap into the considerable synergy potential available through the across-the-board use of services and resources. The fact that our patent attorneys come from a range of natural scientific specialisms such as physics, chemistry, biology and actively engage in exchanges about areas of interest beyond their specialist fields additionally enhances the benefits for our clients. 

Focus on Customers‘ Benefit
It is our belief that a personal relationship with clients, cooperation with the same contacts over many years, and ethically responsible and sustainable actions in the market will become even more important in the future. We share these values and will preserve them for the benefit of our clients and our companies. 


Watch the film portrait of 4pi science lab here

04

Our Team.

We protect and defend your intellectual property.
Roland Althaus

Dr. sc. nat., Dipl. Natw. ETH

CEO
European and Swiss patent attorney; lawyer
+41 52 511 38 71

Max Bolliger

Business Economist

President of the Board of Directors
Head of Human Resources
+41 52 511 38 70

Samuel Gernet

Dr. sc. nat., Dipl. Phys. ETH

Senior Consultant
European and Swiss patent attorney
+41 52 511 38 72

Brigitte Stoll

Paralegal
Formalities Officer – patents,
trademarks, designs
+41 52 511 38 70

Laura-Maria Zamai

Paralegal
Formalities Officer – patents,
trademarks, designs
+41 52 511 38 70

Remo Cadalbert

IT Consultant
responsible for hardware and software
support as well as networks.
+41 52 511 38 70

Organigramm_GAIP_21-09_EN2
05

Patents.

One has to give ideas a fighting chance to become reality.

Thomas A. Edison

Patent
(noun)
pat(ə)nt

A patent is an industrial property right issued by the government. With a patent, you can prevent others from making commercial use of your innovation.

The scenario

You have developed something and want to legally protect your invention.

A third party is using your patented invention in a product and selling it, so you want to put an immediate stop to that party's business practices. You want to prevent them from using it or, at the very least, issue a licence.

Our service

First, we assess the patentability of your invention and guide you along the legally complex route to obtaining a patent. This involves drafting and submitting applications and conducting examination and opposition proceedings. We also maintain and enforce your existing patent rights and assist you in patent invalidation and infringement cases. For national patent applications and disputes, we have access to a reliable global network of national patent attorneys.

We draft any licence and joint development agreements in close consultation with you, review them and represent your interests in dealings with third parties.

06

Trademarks.

A trademark is the right to stand apart.

Alexander Deichsel

Trademark
(noun)
treɪdmɑːk

A trademark identifies the commercial origin of your products and services. A trademark is a symbol of the quality of your products and services and is an important asset. It is one of the keys to sustainable business development.

The scenario

You already have a trademark portfolio or are starting afresh with a new trademark. A third party approaches you with a warning, asking you to cancel your trademark.

It has come to your attention that somebody is using a trademark similar to yours and you want them to desist.

Our service

We comprehensively assist you with the preliminary legal investigations, the application and, if necessary, the defence of your trademark vis-à-vis the trademark Office or against third parties.

For national trademark applications and disputes, we have access to a global and reliable network of national associate attorneys.

Additionally, we monitor the renewal deadlines on your behalf and, when necessary, notify you of conflicts between your trademark and younger, confusingly similar trademarks.

We draft any licence and delimitation agreements in close consultation with you, review them and represent your interests in dealings with third parties.

07

Designs.

The design should let a product talk, so to speak.

Dieter Rams

Design
(noun)
dɪˈzʌɪn

Designs protect a product's visual features. Both surface designs, such as fabric patterns or bottle labels, and forms, such as watches, lamps or chairs, can be protected.

The scenario

Your product, which has an original appearance, is being imitated by third parties and you want to prevent this.

You receive a warning, asking you to alter your new design for a product.

Our service

We comprehensively assist you with the preliminary legal investigations, the application and, if it comes to this, the defence of your design. For design applications and disputes abroad, we have access to a global network of national associate attorneys.

We also maintain the design protection for you.

We draft any licence agreements in close consultation with you, review them and represent your interests in dealings with third parties.

08

Testimonials.

What clients say about us.

To assert our trademarks, which include ALUCOBOND®, DIBOND® and FOREX®, we needed a partner with strategic vision who could get things done, and we found that in Gernet Althaus IP AG. Together, we win the majority of oppositions.

Lisa Willmann

Head of Marketing Communications Display | Transport+Industry - 3A Composites


09

Fee.

Our Service

Usually, fees are based on time spent; the current hourly rate for attorney work is CHF 280-360 and for formal processing the hourly rate is CHF 160-190.

10

What challenge are you facing?

We would be happy to discuss with you how we can protect your idea,
look after your portfolio or represent you in court.

ueber-uns_roland-althaus
01

Wer sind wir?

Gernet Althaus IP AG – Die GA-IP ist eine unabhängige Patent- und Markenanwaltskanzlei. 

Sie erfinden, wir schützen, damit Ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit erhalten bleibt und gestärkt wird.

Schützen Sie Ihre Innovation vor Nachahmung! Dieser Schutz ermöglicht Ihnen, sich von Ihrer Konkurrenz zu differenzieren, anderen die Nutzung Ihres Geistigen Eigentums zu verbieten und hindert die Konkurrenten daran, Ihre Innovation für sich zu schützen. Ihre geschützten Innovationen und Kreationen stellen auch ein handelbares Gut dar, das Sie verkaufen oder lizenzieren können.

Unser Team setzt sich zusammen aus hochqualifizierten Spezialisten, die aufgrund ihrer Expertise und ihrem Fachwissen sowohl im Geistigen Eigentum als auch in verschiedenen technischen Bereichen, insbesondere in Mechanik, Elektrotechnik, Chemie und Biotechnologie qualifizierte Ansprechpartner sind. Mit diesen Kompetenzen unterstützen wir innovative Unternehmen und Einzelerfinder bei der Entwicklung von wirksamen Strategien zum Schutz ihres geistigen Eigentums weltweit.

02

Unsere Stärken.

In folgenden Bereichen vertrauen unsere Kunden auf unsere Stärken.
Patente

schützen Ihre technischen Innovationen.

Marken

differenzieren Ihre Produkte und stärken deren Produktimage.

Design

schützt die kreative neue Gestaltung (äussere Form) Ihrer Produkte.

03

IPS Irsch Group.

IPS Irsch Group: Gernet Althaus IP AG, PMD Workshop GmbH und IPS Irsch AG


 

Hintergrund

Wir haben uns über viele Jahre im nationalen wie im internationalen Markt bewährt und über ein organisches Wachstum unsere Kanzleien vorangebracht. Die Individualität der einzelnen Unternehmen steht im Vordergrund, ihre Solidarität untereinander verleiht in der Gesamtheit zusätzliche Stärke. Diese werden wir zum Wohl unserer Mandanten nutzen. Dabei sind wir überzeugt, dass die regionale Ausrichtung auf Basis der gewachsenen lokalen Verankerung einem wachsenden Kundenbedürfnis entspricht.

Anspruch
Die Persönlichkeit der Mitarbeitenden, ihre Integrität, hat neben den Anforderungen an die fachliche Qualifikation einen sehr hohen Stellenwert in unserem Unternehmen. Und wir legen Wert auf eine inspirierende und wertschätzende Personal- und Firmenkultur und haben uns als Unternehmen einem nachhaltigen und verantwortungsvollen Wirken verpflichtet. Damit schaffen wir die Grundlage für eine vertrauensvolle Basis der Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden.

Vorreiterrolle
Das ausgezeichnete Niveau unserer Infrastrukturen inklusive der bereits 2013 avisierten und inzwischen vollintegrierten IT sind zentrale Elemente unserer qualitativ hochstehenden Leistungserbringung. Wir sind vielen Mitbewerbern damit einen deutlichen Schritt voraus, konnten unsere Effizienz nachhaltig steigern und die Sicherheit grundsätzlich erhöhen. Dazu kommt, dass wir auf dieser Basis auch besser auf unvorhergesehene Ereignisse, wie beispielsweise die Corona-Pandemie, vorbereitet sind und die zusätzlichen Herausforderungen auf geleichbleibend hohem Niveau bewältigen.

Flexibilität und Stärke 
Als Unternehmensgruppe können wir zusätzlich Sicherheit und Flexibilität erhöhen und ein beachtliches Synergiepotenzial im Rahmen der übergreifenden Nutzung von Dienstleistungen und Ressourcen erschliessen. Dass unsere Patentanwälte aus unterschiedlichen naturwissenschaftlichen Fachbereichen wie Physik, Chemie, Biologie oder Maschinenbau kommen und über ihre Fachbereiche hinaus einen regen Austausch pflegen, erhöht zusätzlich den Nutzen für unsere Mandanten.

Kundennutzen im Fokus
Wir sind überzeugt, dass die persönliche Beziehung zu den Mandanten, die Zusammenarbeit mit den gleichen Ansprechpersonen über viele Jahre und ein ethisch verantwortungsvolles und nachhaltiges Agieren im Markt in Zukunft noch wichtiger werden. Wir teilen diese Werte und werden sie bewahren, zum Nutzen unserer Mandanten und zum Nutzen unseres Unternehmens.

Sehen Sie hier das Filmporträt über 4pi science lab

04

Unser Team.

Wir schützen und verteidigen Ihr geistiges Eigentum.
Roland Althaus

Dr. sc. nat., Dipl. Natw. ETH

Geschäftsführer
Europäischer und Schweizer Patentanwalt; Rechtsanwalt
+41 52 55 111 26

Max Bolliger

Betriebsökonom HWV

Präsident des Verwaltungsrates
Leiter Personalabteilung

+41 52 55 111 06

Samuel Gernet

Dr. sc. nat., Dipl. Phys. ETH

Senior Consultant
Europäischer und Schweizer Patentanwalt

+41 52 55 111 07

Brigitte Stoll


Paralegal
Patent-, Marken- und Designadministration
+41 52 55 111 06

Laura-Maria Zamai


Paralegal
Patent-, Marken- und Designadministration
+41 52 55 111 16

Remo Cadalbert


IT Consultant
Hardware- und Softwarebetreuung, Netzwerke
+41 52 55 111 06

Organigramm_GAIP_21-09_DE
05

Patente.

Man muss Ideen die Chance geben, sich zu verwirklichen.

Thomas A. Edison

Pa·tẹnt Substantiv [das]

Ein Patent ist ein vom Staat erteiltes gewerbliches Schutzrecht. Durch Patente können Sie die gewerbliche Nutzung Ihrer Innovation anderen verbieten.

Worum geht es?

Sie haben etwas entwickelt und möchten diese Erfindung rechtlich schützen.

Ein Dritter nutzt Ihre patentierte Erfindung in einem Produkt und verkauft dieses, weshalb Sie dessen Geschäftsgebaren umgehend stoppen wollen. Sie möchten ihm diese Nutzung verbieten oder allenfalls eine Lizenz vergeben.

Unser Service

Wir beurteilen zunächst die Patentfähigkeit Ihrer Erfindung und begleiten Sie auf dem rechtlich komplexen Weg zum Patent. Dies beinhaltet die Ausarbeitung und Einreichung von Anmeldungen sowie die Durchführung von Prüfungs- und Einspruchsverfahren. Ferner kümmern wir uns um die Aufrechterhaltung und Durchsetzung Ihrer bestehenden Patentrechte.

Wir begleiten Sie auch in Patent-Nichtigkeits- und -Verletzungsfällen. Für nationale Patentanmeldungen und streitige Auseinandersetzungen verfügen wir über ein weltweites verlässliches Netzwerk nationaler Patentanwälte.

Etwaige Lizenz- und Entwicklungszusammenarbeitsverträge entwerfen wir in enger Absprache mit Ihnen, prüfen sie und vertreten Ihre Interessen gegenüber Dritten.

06

Marken.

Marke ist das Recht auf Abstand.

Alexander Deichsel

Mạr·ke Substantiv [die]​

Die Marke zeigt die betriebliche Herkunft Ihrer Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Die Marke wird als Symbol für die Qualität Ihrer Produkte und Dienstleistungen herausgestellt und ist ein starkes Kapital. Dies ist ein wichtiger Schlüsselfaktor für die nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung.

Worum geht es?

Sie haben bereits ein Markenportfolio oder starten ganz frisch mit einer neuen Marke. Ein Dritter kommt mit einer Abmahnung auf Sie zu und fordert Sie auf, Ihre Marke zu löschen.

Sie haben bemerkt, dass jemand eine Marke verwendet, die ähnlich Ihrer ist und Sie möchten, dass dies unterlassen wird.

Unser Service

Wir begleiten Sie umfassend bei den juristischen Vorabklärungen, der Anmeldung und – falls erforderlich – bei der Verteidigung Ihrer Marke gegenüber dem Markenamt oder gegenüber Dritten.

Für nationale Markenanmeldungen und streitige Auseinandersetzungen verfügen wir über ein weltweites verlässliches Netzwerk nationaler Korrespondenzanwälte.

Zudem übernehmen wir für Sie die Überwachung der Verlängerungsfristen und teilen Ihnen bei Bedarf Kollisionsfälle bezüglich Ihrer Marke mit verwechselbaren, jüngeren Marken mit.

Etwaige Lizenz- und Abgrenzungsverträge entwerfen wir in enger Absprache mit Ihnen, prüfen sie und vertreten Ihre Interessen gegenüber Dritten.

07

Designs.

Das Design sollte das Produkt sozusagen zum Sprechen bringen.

Dieter Rams

De·sign Substantiv [das]​

Designs schützen die äussere Form eines Produkts. Geschützt werden können sowohl flächenhafte Designs, wie Stoffmuster oder Flaschenetiketten, als auch Formen, wie Uhren, Lampen oder Sessel.

Worum geht es?

Ihr Produkt mit einem originellen Aussehen wird von Dritten imitiert, was Sie unterbinden wollen.

Sie erhalten eine Abmahnung mit Aufforderung Ihr neues Design eines Produkts zu ändern.

Unser Service

Wir begleiten Sie umfassend bei den juristischen Vorabklärungen, der Anmeldung und – falls erforderlich – bei der Verteidigung Ihres Designs. Für Designanmeldungen und streitige Auseinandersetzungen im Ausland verfügen wir über ein weltweites Netzwerk nationaler Korrespondenzanwälte.

Zudem übernehmen wir für Sie die Aufrechterhaltung des Designschutzes.

Etwaige Lizenzverträge entwerfen wir in enger Absprache mit Ihnen, prüfen sie und vertreten Ihre Interessen gegenüber Dritten.

08

Testimonials.

Was Kunden über uns sagen.

Die Betreuung unserer Marken wie ALUCOBOND®, DIBOND®, FOREX®, … bedarf eines Partners mit strategischem Weitblick und Durchsetzungsvermögen, welchen wir in Gernet Althaus IP AG gefunden haben. Gemeinsam gewinnen wir die meisten Widersprüche für uns. 

Lisa Willmann

Head of Marketing Communications Display | Transport+Industry - 3A Composites


09

Honorar.

Unser Service

In der Regel ist für das Honorar der Zeitaufwand massgebend, wobei für anwaltliche Tätigkeiten der aktuelle Stundensatz CHF 280-360. und für Formalsacharbeiten der Stundensatz CHF 160-190. beträgt.

10

Was ist Ihre Herausforderung?

Gerne schauen wir uns gemeinsam mit Ihnen an, wie wir Ihre Idee schützen,
Ihr Portfolio betreuen oder Sie vor Gericht vertreten können.